Peru, Neb. – The Peru State College Foundation Board of Directors held their first meeting of 2023 this past Saturday (Jan. 28) as they gear up for a busy 2023.

Topping the agenda was election of officers. Leadership of the Board was largely unchanged, with Jeff Greenwald (Class of ’71) re-elected chair, and Elton Edmond (‘88, Masters ‘16) re-elected vice chair. Both are Lincoln residents.

Al Urwin (‘82) of LaVista, continues as Foundation secretary, while Jeff (’83) and Robin (Nelson ’83) Smith of Lincoln serving as co-treasurers. They shared that post last year with Tim (’84) and Cindy (Plantenga ’82) Hoffman of Ashland, who remain on the Board.

The Foundation is a private, non-profit corporation whose sole mission is to support Peru State College through receipt and distribution of charitable gifts to support the college. Board members serve on a voluntary basis.

Lori Vrtiska Seibel (’84) of Lincoln was elected to the Board in December and attended her first meeting. Other Foundation Board members include Terri Bishop (’92) of Auburn, Connie Edmond (’87) of Lincoln, Fritz Stehlik (’74) of Omaha, and Ivan Wineglass (’94) of Bellevue.

The Foundation Board heard reports on its primary current fund drive, Project ROAR. The Foundation has a goal to raise $5 million to support the more than $15 million dollar project, the largest in Peru State College history.

Project ROAR calls for the first new buildings at Nebraska’s first college since construction of the Al Wheeler Activity Center in 1980. Peru State College President Michael Evans told Foundation Board members plans are underway to break ground on the first facility in the spring.