56 teacher candidates initiated into honor society

56 teacher candidates initiated into honor society

Peru, Nebraska –  Kappa Delta Pi, International Honor Society in Education, is pleased to announce that 56 teacher candidates have been invited and inducted into its membership through the Beta Mu Chapter of Peru State College.  The initiation ceremony took place on April 20, 2018 in the Live Oak Room on Peru State’s campus.

The initiation ceremony is the method by which the chapters honor the academic achievements of new initiates, and it also serves to educate the newest members about the rich legacy and ideals of KDP. The initiation ceremony is the cornerstone of the Kappa Delta Pi membership experience.

Ingram is standing behind the Peru State College seal.

Dr. Robert Ingram, assistant professor of education, gave the keynote address. He challenged the future teachers to be awesome.


Jones and Hinz pose behind the candles lit as part of the initiation.

Ariason Jones and Kelsie Hinz showing off their certificates of membership.

The Society inducts only those individuals who have exhibited the ideals of scholarship, integrity in service and commitment to excellence in teaching and its allied professions. Selection as a member of Kappa Delta Pi is based on high academic achievement, a commitment to education as a career, and a professional attitude that assures steady growth in the profession.

At Peru State College members must have the intent to continue academically and professionally in the field of education; demonstrate leadership attributes and commitment to equity; have completed at least 24 credits of collegiate course work; have at least 6 credit hours in education course work programmed, in progress, or completed; demonstrate a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or greater or ranking in the upper 20% of the school; and receive an invitation to membership from the Beta Mu Chapter at Peru State College.

Dr. Gina L. Bittner, associate professor of education, and Dr. Kelly A. Kingsley, assistant professor of education, are the chapter advisors.

List of initiates:

Mackenzie Allyn Bishop (Nebraska City, Nebraska)
Jeremy D. Bittner (Dawson, Nebraska)
Damian Caumsgrove (Nebraska City, Nebraska)
Dana Christensen (North Las Vegas, Nevada)
Claire Elise Cudney (Marysville, Kansas)
Hannah Dodd (Seneca, Kansas)
Courtney Nicole Elle (Nebraska City, Nebraska)
Kealyn Ann Ensminger (Homer, Nebraska)
Jordan Caleb Fischer (Hartington, Nebraska)
Brandon Lee Gibson (Falls City, Nebraska)
Kaylee Gill (Allen, Nebraska)
Sydney Renae Girmus (Friend, Nebraska)
Marissa Rayne Montaril Gomez (Omaha, Nebraska)
Alyssa Grell (Omaha, Nebraska)
Mary Elizabeth Grose (Peoria, Arizona)
Kelsey Jo Hayes (Falls City, Nebraska)
Kelsie Hinz (Beatrice, Nebraska)
Luke A. Hoesing (Fremont, Nebraska)
Haevyn J. Hug (Auburn, Nebraska)
Ariason Miranda James (Omaha, Nebraska)
Raechel Angelique Knowles (Nassau, Bahamas)
Kasey Lamborn (Lincoln, Nebraska)
Elly Christine Lempka (Tecumseh, NE)
Ashley R. Looper (Dorchester, Nebraska)
Zachary David Lutz (Cedar Creek, Nebraska)
Mallory Matthies (Omaha, Nebraska)
Anna Marie Meyer (Atkinson, Nebraska)
Kenzie Mohlman (Lincoln, Nebraska)
Vicki Linn Mulholland (Sterling, Nebraska)
Kayla Michelle Myers (Sidney, Iowa)
Keegan RaeAnn Nelson (Essex, Iowa)
Abigail Newcomer (Bellevue, Nebraska)
Calvin Daniel Nichols (Auburn, Nebraska)
Madison Panko (Cook, Nebraska)
Brianna Lynn Pfeiffer (Nebraska City, Nebraska)
Maygan Marie Ramsey (Falls City, Nebraska)
Katarina M. Robertson (Tarkio, Missouri)
Elizabeth Ann Robine (Omaha, Nebraska)
Linda Lucy Romero Gutierrez (Lincoln, Nebraska)
Amber Marie Rush (Bellevue, Nebraska)
Kristin Sanford (Lincoln, Nebraska)
Stephanie Scales (Denton, Kansas)
Melanie Slama (Peru, Nebraska)
Eric Lynn Kalani Sundar (Kemmerer, Wyoming)
Josie J. Tennant (Thornton, Colorado)
Mikaela Thompson (Auburn, Nebraska)
McKenzie Tonniges (York, Nebraska)
Sara Marie Vance (Shenandoah, Iowa)
Samantha Wahle (Pacific Junction, Iowa)
Megan D. Wallace (Ralston, Nebraska)
Karen Webb (Auburn, Nebraska)
Emily Whipple (Lincoln, Nebraska)
Nyla Annette Witzel (Brainard, Nebraska)
Delaney Woodruff (Bellevue, Nebraska)
Destiny Cheyenne Worthey (Humboldt, Nebraska)
Marissa Jean Wusk (Adams, Nebraska)

# # #