Phi Beta Lambda students recognized with national awards.

Phi Beta Lambda students recognized with national awards.

Baltimore, Maryland – The Peru State Phi Beta Lambda chapter brought home 16 national awards. Of the 22 students representing Peru State, 17 placed in the top ten. This year’s National Leadership Conference took place in Baltimore, Maryland from June 22 – 26.

Thousands of highly competitive students from all over the United States took part in 60 different business and business-related events. In order to make it to the national conference, participants must first receive a first, second, or third in their event at  the state level.

The group appears with trophies in hand.

All of Peru State’s national qualifiers and national award winners.

From the top, Amanda Jo Cleek (Houston, TX) and partner Ryan Arnold (Houston, TX) earned second place for their Mobile Application Development project. At the state competition, they took home the first place trophy.

Christopher Nwafor (Lagos, Nigeria) earned second in Future Business Educator. At the Nebraska Competition, he achieved third place.

Hayley Benedict (Springfield, NE) won two awards: a third place in Website Design and a fourth in Desktop Publishing. At the state competition, she won first place in both. Also competing in Website Design were Rachael Cole (Wymore, NE) and Lindsay Harlow (Dawson, NE) who won sixth place. They earned third at state.

Trey Nelson and Tristen Nelson (Lincoln, NE) collected fourth for Management Analysis and Decision Making. The two also won eighth for Business Decision Making at the state competition, the two earned a second place trophy for Management Analysis and Decision Making and a first for Business Decision Making.

Rachael Cole (Wymore, NE) won 5th for the Local Chapter Annual Business Report. At the Nebraska Competition, she earned a second.

Anthony De Abreu (Caracas, Venezuela), Rozlyn Cole (Wymore, NE), Booke Hays (Oxford, NE), and Noah Temme (Fairmont, NE) earned 5th for their Parliamentary Procedure team. At state they won first place. De Abreu also earned eighth at nationals for Justice Administration and first at state for that category.

Cole (Wymore, NE), Sara Granfors (Seward, NE), and Spencer Kerwin (Omaha, NE) together earned a 5th place for Strategic Analysis and Decision Making. At the state competition, they collected a first place trophy.

Hannah Cook (Cook, NE) earned sixth for Organizations Behavior and Leadership. She won 2nd at the state competition.

Ashli Becker (Yankton, SD) earned seventh for Organizational Behavior and Leadership. At state she won fifth.

Lindsay Harlow (Oxford, NE) and Brooke Hays (Oxford, NE) earned eighth place for Forensic Accounting. During the Nebraska competition, they won first place.

Yorgelys Jaspe (Klaipeda, Lithuania) collected tenth for Global Analysis and Decision Making. For the state competition, she earned third.

Other Peru State competitors that finished in the top 15 are Ryan Arnold (Houston, TX) in Sales Presentation, Brenda Lutz (Rockport, MO) in Small Business Management Plan, Ashli Becker (Fremont, NE)  and Velma Hauck (Fremont, NE) in Small Business Management Plan, and Spencer Kerwin (Fairmont, NE) and Noah Temme (Fairmont, NE) in the Community Service Project.

In addition to all of their individual successes, Peru State PBL earned the Hollis and Kitty Guy Gold Seal Chapter Award of Merit, which recognizes outstanding chapters that have actively participated in projects and programs identified with the goals of FBLA-PBL.

# # #

Emily Oestmann contributed to this release.