Peru State College Department of Music emphasizes the training of future music educators. However, students can obtain degrees in performance and music marketing, as well as music education. An endorsement in elementary music and a community music/studio teaching option is also available. Students can participate in a variety of performance groups. Vocalists may sing in the concert choir, show choir, and madrigal singers. Auditions are held in the fall for membership in any of the choral ensembles. Instrumentalists can participate in the concert band, jazz band, woodwind, brass, and percussion ensembles. Students do not have to be music majors to participate in any of the ensembles. In addition to regular on-campus concerts, the choirs and bands make annual tours of the area high schools. The Department of Music stresses individual student attention and is committed to high performance standards. Individual lessons are available in voice, piano, brass, woodwinds, and percussion instruments.

Contact Information


Dr. Paul Hinrichs
phinrichs@peru.edu
402-872-2237

Office of Admissions
admissions@peru.edu
1-800-742-4412 option 1
Apply For Free

Program Options

The Music Education (K-12 or K-6 endorsements), the Music Performance (non-teaching), the Music Marketing (non-teaching), Community Music and Private Studio, and the Music Minor (non-teaching) options are open to all students who have the ability to read music and perform on a wind or percussion instrument, piano, or as a vocalist. In addition, those students selecting either Music Education (K-12 or K-6) or Music Performance (non-teaching) will be conditionally accepted into the program and must satisfy two levels of qualification (see below) before being fully accepted into their selected program.

Faculty

Dr. Jacob Bartlett
Associate Professor
Jindra Fine Arts 126
402-872-2321
jbartlett@peru.edu
Matt Hill
Assistant Professor
Jindra Fine Arts 125
402-872-2253
mhill@peru.edu
Dr. Ken Meints
Associate Professor
Jindra Fine Arts 224
402-872-2368
kmeints@peru.edu
Liz Stinman
Accompanist
Jindra Fine Arts 106 402-872-2237
lstinman@peru.edu