Peru State College
font size: - | +
print print
News Release

Peru State earns coveted 10-year continuing accreditation from Higher Learning Commission


HLC(Peru, Neb.) Peru State College (PSC) today announced that it has received continuing accreditation for the next 10 years from the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. PSC has been accredited by the organization since 1915.

The HLC recommends that Peru State’s next review be in 2021-2022 - the maximum time possible between reviews. Only 30 percent of all higher education institutions accredited by HLC require no follow-up, putting the college among the top institutions in the North Central Association.

PSC President Dan Hanson said, “Fully meeting all of the HLC’s accreditation criteria has become increasingly unusual in higher education. Our success can be directly attributed to the mission-centered work of our faculty and staff and their focus on student achievement. Their hard work and dedication over the past decade have resulted in a strong, vibrant academic institution. This is the best possible outcome and represents a strong endorsement of Peru State.”

Hanson cited a few of the college’s successes over the past decade, including:

  • 55 percent enrollment growth.
  • $55+ million investment in campus infrastructure.
  • Partnership with the University of Nebraska Medical Center’s Rural Health Opportunities Program (RHOP) and Public Health Early Admissions Student Track.
  • U.S. News and World Report ranking as second in the nation for value for out-of-state students.
  • Creation of the One Rate, Any State program, which allows all students to attend Peru State for the same rate, regardless of residency.
  • Development of an Institute for Community Engagement.
  • Creation of the Distinguished Speaker Series, which has featured Holocaust survivor Elane Geller; former skinhead Frank Meeink; civil rights activist and Little Rock Nine member Minnijean Brown-Trickey; Mahatma Gandhi’s grandson, Arun Gandhi; Bawa (Cameroon) Health Initiative Co-Founder Dr. Dennis Richardson; Pulitzer Prize-winning author Sonia Nazario and former Green Party candidate for president and consumer advocate Ralph Nader.
  • Development of the Student Engagement Enhancement (SEE) Initiative. Fifteen faculty members were awarded $43,000 this year in mini-grants as a way to encourage creativity and innovation in teaching to enhance the student learning experience.
  • Scholarship program that directly rewards student engagement and leadership.
  • Revitalized Honors Program.

The Higher Learning Commission is one of six accrediting agencies in the United States that provide institutional accreditation on a regional basis. Institutional accreditation evaluates an entire institution and accredits it as a whole. Other agencies provide accreditation for specific programs. Accreditation is voluntary. The Commission accredits approximately 1,100 institutions of higher education in a 19-state region. The Commission is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.