Peru State College
font size: - | +
print print
News Release

Lincoln, Sioux City natives elected to lead Peru State Student Senate


Student Senate(Peru, Neb.) Ellen Larsen, a junior elementary education and special education major from Lincoln, and Lexi Neemann, a sophomore psychology major from Sioux City, Iowa, have been elected by their peers to lead Peru State College’s (PSC) Student Senate as president and vice-president, respectively, for the 2012-13 academic year.

Larsen said, “This is a great honor. I am excited to lead PSC Student Senate to a positive future. Lexi and I look forward to bringing new insight to the student body.”

Larsen is a member of the women’s golf team, golf representative on the Student Athletic Advisory Council, member of Peru State Catholic Union, Student Ambassador, Top Cat and Resident Assistant. She also serves as a volunteer for Bright Lights, a summer learning program in Lincoln.

Larsen is a 2010 graduate of Pius X High School in Lincoln. Her parents are Peru State alums Anne (LaHood) Larsen of Omaha and James Larsen of Plainview.

Neemann is a 2011 graduate of Bishop Heelan Catholic High School in Sioux City, Iowa. Her parents are PSC alum Joanne (Goeking) and Doug Neemann of Fairbury.

Neemann said, “While I’ve only been enrolled at Peru State a short time I have already come to see the potential of our student body. Ellen and I are ready to work hard and give our fellow students the kind of leadership they deserve. I could not be more blessed and honored to have this opportunity.”

PSC Student Senate meets weekly to address student issues and concerns. Members are also responsible for planning and overseeing annual homecoming festivities.

Student Senate focuses on the interests and opinions of students with regard to the operations of the college through involvement in a wide variety of campus affairs. The organization provides a means for students to participate in the formulation and application of institutional policy affecting academic and student services. Members are elected by their peers to express student views and interests to the administration; develop better educational standards, facilities and teaching methods; and foster the recognition of the rights and responsibilities of students to the school and community.