Peru State College
font size: - | +
print print
News Release

35 Area Students Earn Full Tuition NSCS Board of Trustees Scholarships to Attend Peru State College

Burchard Native Named Recipient of Governor’s Opportunity Award


(Peru, Neb.) The Nebraska State College System (NSCS) recently awarded full tuition Board of Trustees Scholarships to 35 Nebraska high school seniors to attend Peru State College. Burchard native Trisha Sejkora has also been named a recipient of the second annual Governor’s Opportunity Award.

To be eligible for the Board of Trustees’ Scholarship, which was first offered in 1970, Nebraska high school seniors must earn a minimum of a 25 on the ACT (or 1130 on the SAT) college entrance exam. A written letter of recommendation from a high school teacher or administrator is also required. The scholarship covers the full cost of tuition and is renewable for four years. More than 130 Board of Trustees Scholarships have been awarded system-wide for fall 2010.

To be eligible for the Governor’s Opportunity Award, a partnership between Gov. Dave Heineman and the NSCS, Nebraska high school seniors must score between a 21 and 24 on the ACT (or a 1500 and 1650 on the SAT) college entrance exam and write an essay explaining why they are committed to remaining in Nebraska after graduating from Chadron, Peru or Wayne State Colleges. The award provides half the cost of tuition and is renewable for four years. Three students, one at each campus, received a Governor’s Opportunity Award for fall 2010.

The recipients of the scholarships and their families were recognized by Lt. Gov. Rick Sheehy and NSCS Chancellor Stan Carpenter at the second annual NSCS Scholarship Luncheon held this spring in Lincoln.

Carpenter said, “We had nearly 550 applicants this year for these scholarships, so the process was very competitive. The NSCS Scholarship Luncheon provided us an opportunity to congratulate our scholarship recipients in person. It also allowed us to thank their families for their role in shaping these students’ lives.” 

Sheehy said, “There are many students that are passionate about the opportunities they’ve had growing up in Nebraska. They want to remain in the state. The students receiving the Governor’s Opportunity Award and the Board of Trustees’ Scholarship will have that opportunity. The three colleges making up the Nebraska State College System provide an outstanding education. Their graduates have distinguished themselves in their professional accomplishments, and they have served as volunteers and leaders in their communities.”

Three past Board of Trustees’ Scholarship recipients spoke at the luncheon about their personal experiences attending Chadron, Peru and Wayne State, including Chadron State College graduate Ethan Mann ’05 from Omaha, who recently graduated from the University of Nebraska Medical College in microbiology; Peru State College graduate Chris Lindner ‘05, who is an auditor in Lincoln, and Wayne State College graduate Ali Brunkow-Schwanke ’03, a marketing manager in Lincoln. Each graduate shared how important receiving the scholarship was as it allowed them to focus on their education.

Scholarship recipients are listed below alphabetically by hometown.

2010-11 Governor’s Opportunity Award

  1. Trisha Sejkora - Burchard

2010-11 Board of Trustees Scholars

  1. Jesse Carnahan - Auburn
  2. James Shaffer - Auburn
  3. Elizabeth Blood - Beatrice
  4. Jonathan Kolman - Beatrice
  5. Sara Mencl - Beatrice
  6. Stacey Ockinga - Bennet
  7. Megan Johnson - Blue Springs
  8. Rebekah Heitkamp - Dunbar
  9. Kellan Garber - Fairbury
  10. Johanna Shinn - Fairbury
  11. Alexa Johnson - Fremont
  12. Drew Wellenstein - Gretna
  13. Alicia Umland - Jansen
  14. Karlee  Nuttelman - Lincoln
  15. Mark Thresher - Malcolm
  16. Lance Steffen - Murdock
  17. Aubrey Garner - Nebraska City
  18. Rory Morgan - Nebraska City
  19. Nicholas Varvaro - Nebraska City
  20. Rebekha Dostal - North Bend
  21. Jonathon Case - Omaha
  22. Michael Dentlinger - Omaha
  23. Kelsey Karnik - Omaha
  24. Zach Lenagh - Omaha
  25. Jonathan Rada - Papillion
  26. Amanda Heywood - Peru
  27. Mary Fiedler - Pleasant Dale
  28. Danielle Hardesty - Raymond
  29. Cassandra Leonard - Reynolds
  30. Austin Shaw - Stamford
  31. Levi Likens - Swanton
  32. Paula Byrd - Wahoo
  33. Zachery Barrett - Weeping Water
  34. Mitchell Boshart - Wood River
  35. Austin Wegener - York

The NSCS serves 9,000 students from Nebraska and surrounding states through three geographically diverse institutions: Chadron, Peru and Wayne State Colleges. Combined, the three colleges offer more than 200 degree, certificate, and pre-professional programs that are accessible on the three campuses, via the Internet, and in several satellite locations throughout the state. With more than 250 credentialed faculty members and 50,000 successful graduates, the NSCS provides significant human and intellectual capital that contributes to the current and future economic strength of the State of Nebraska.