Peru State College
font size: - | +
print print
News Release

Students from Bellevue, Mitchell Elected to Lead Peru State College Student Senate

23 Student Representatives Also Elected to Office


(Peru, Neb.) Susan Reynolds, a senior social science education major from Bellevue, and Shane Mathis, a junior elementary education and coaching major from Mitchell, have been elected by their peers to serve as president and vice president, respectively, of Peru State College’s (PSC) Student Senate for the 2009-10 academic year.

Reynolds said, “There is an energy at Peru State College this year that is refreshing. It's a new year with new goals in mind. Peru State College Student Senate has strong support this year, and we are going to accomplish great things. This is a humbling and honorable experience.”

Mathis said, “Peru State College has blessed me with many opportunities on campus. I look forward to giving something back at my new position. We plan to do great things on Senate this year, and we encourage students to approach us with their ideas.”

The PSC Student Senate meets weekly to address student issues and concerns. Members are also responsible for planning and overseeing annual homecoming festivities. English Professor Bill Clemente and Director of Transition Services Ted Harshbarger are co-advisors for the group.

Twenty-three other PSC students have also been elected to serve as representatives on the PSC Student Senate. Members are listed below alphabetically according to the constituencies they represent, along with their hometown, current year and major.

Senators at Large

  • Rebecca Colling, a sophomore early childhood and elementary education major from Omaha.
  • Rebecca Cortez, a junior social science education major from Omaha. Cortez was elected within the Senate to serve as the recording secretary.
  • Linda Eads, a freshman K-12 special education major from Springfield
  • Madison Farris, a sophomore social science education and coaching major from Nebraska City. Farris was elected within the Senate to serve as the financial secretary.
  • Caroline Keenan, a junior English and history education major from Omaha.
  • Kirk Petereit, a senior sports management major from Plattsmouth.
  • Jason Rodriguez, a senior criminal justice counseling and psychology major from Scottsbluff.
  • Molly Schechinger, a senior natural science education major from Harlan, Iowa.
  • Elizabeth Stewart, a freshman English education major from Jackson, Ala.
  • Elizabeth Zito, a sophomore elementary special education major from Lincoln.

Freshmen Representatives

  • Dewitt Steward, a freshman elementary major from Omaha.
  • Alex Gonzales, a freshman criminal justice administration major from Torrance, Calif. Gonzales was elected within the Senate to serve as corresponding secretary.

Non-Traditional Representatives

  • Jordan Drake, a pre-pharmacy major with a business minor from Gretna.
  • Mallory Sjuts, a freshman history education major from Humphrey.

Commuter Representatives

  • Josh Gibbs, a senior elementary and special education major from Nebraska City.
  • Sam Carman, senior history major from Palmyra.

Clayburn-Mathews Hall Representative

  • Carlie Boswell, a junior psychology major with criminal justice minor from Abilene, Kan.

Davidson-Palmer Hall Representative

  • Will Jackson, a sophomore history education major with business administration minor from Omaha.

Delzell Hall Representative

  • Christopher Hawkins, a freshman elementary and early childhood education major from Indian Head, Md.

Morgan Hall Representative

  • Kelsey Potter, a freshman early childhood education major from Nehawka.

Nicholas-Pate Hall Representative

  • Cody Wallinger, a senior sport management and marketing major from Odell.

Oak Hill Representative

  • Joe Wingrove, a junior computer management information systems major from Lincoln.

Student Board Representative

  • Samantha Meyer, a senior math major from Fairbury.