Peru State College
font size: - | +
print print
News Release

Peru State History Professor Dr. Sara Crook Appointed to Nebraska Hall of Fame Commission


Sara Crook

(Peru, Neb.) Peru State College History Professor Dr. Sara Crook was recently appointed to serve a five-year term on the Nebraska Hall of Fame Commission by Gov. Dave Heineman.


Crook said, “I appreciate the opportunity to serve Nebraksans in this way and look forward to the challenges of serving on this board. After having taught the history of Nebraska for 25 years at the collegiate level, it is so very evident that choosing an individual from the past to receive this honor will require serious study and reflection for their overall contribution to the State of Nebraska. It will be a pleasure to serve in that capacity.”


The Nebraska Hall of Fame was established in 1961 to officially recognize prominent Nebraskans. The Nebraska Hall of Fame Commission, with members appointed by the governor, is the official body responsible for the evaluation of candidates and the bestowal of this prestigious honor.


The Hall of Fame honors people who were born in Nebraska, gained prominence while living in Nebraska, or lived in Nebraska and whose residence in Nebraska was an important influence on their lives and contributed to their greatness.


Legislation passed in 1998 provides that no more than one person can be added to the Hall of Fame every five years, with the next addition to be made in 2010. The legislation also provides that no person can be considered for the Hall of Fame until at least 35 years after his or her death. Busts of Hall of Fame members are displayed in the State Capitol and in other commission-approved locations.


Some of the 24 members of the Nebraska Hall of Fame include Willa Cather, Chief Standing Bear, J. Sterling Morton, Buffalo Bill Cody, Father Flanagan and Bess Streeter Aldrich.


For more information on the Nebraska Hall of Fame, visit