Peru State College
font size: - | +
print print
News Release

Peru State College to Host 24th Annual District History Day Contest Wednesday, Feb. 27

$500 PSC Scholarships to be Awarded to First-Place Winners


(Peru, Neb.) More than 160 students from area junior and senior high schools will compete in Peru State College’s (PSC) 24th Annual District History Day Contest Wednesday, Feb. 27. This year’s theme is “Conflict and Compromise.”


The contest, which will begin at 9:00 a.m. in various buildings on the PSC campus, is free and open to the public. It will conclude with an awards ceremony at 2:30 p.m. in the College Theatre, located at the south end of Hoyt Science Hall.


District History Day Director and PSC Social Science Professor Dr. Sara Crook said, “Peru State’s annual History Contest is about teaching students that history is not something we find only in textbooks. It is a living, evolving thing that embodies who we are, where we’ve been and what we’ve done. The contest affords area students a unique opportunity to engage in research and learn about the conflicts and compromises that have helped to define our nation’s collective character.”


History Day contestants will present their work in five different modes, including paper, performance, documentary, exhibit or Web site. Some entries are by individuals, whereas others are in groups of two to five students. The top three winners in each entry category will be eligible for the statewide contest held at Nebraska Wesleyan University in Lincoln on April 19. The national competition will be held at the University of Maryland June 15-19.


First-place winners in each of the senior division categories will receive $500 “Tested for Excellence” tuition scholarships to PSC. Special awards will be also be presented by the Peru Historical Foundation, Arbor Lodge, Nebraska City Museum Association and Mayhew Cabin.


Participating schools include Conestoga Junior/Senior High School, Louisville Middle School, Saint John the Baptist School (Plattsmouth), Plattsmouth Middle School, Syracuse-Dunbar-Avoca Middle/High Schools, Johnson-Brock Public Schools, Humboldt-Table Rock-Steinauer (HTRS) - Unified School District #7, Lourdes Central Catholic High School and Lourdes Central Catholic Middle School (Nebraska City).