Peru State College
font size: - | +
print print
News Release
Peru State College to Host 35th Annual High School Business Contest Wednesday, Feb. 20


(Peru, Neb.) Twenty-three high schools from Nebraska, Iowa, Kansas and Missouri will compete for scholarships and awards during Peru State College’s (PSC) 35th Annual High School Business Contest on Wednesday, Feb. 20.


The day will begin with a general assembly at 8 a.m. The awards ceremony, which is free and open to the public, will be held at 1 p.m. in the College Theatre.


PSC President Dr. Ben Johnson said, “This is a wonderful opportunity for high school students to compete with their peers from across the region in their respective areas of expertise. It’s also a great way for young people to begin building their resumes and earn scholarship money.”


Contest Director Dr. Judy Grotrian said, “This contest has been an enormous success for the last 35 years because of the cooperation and support of the entire Peru State College campus community and because of the support and collaboration of all of the schools that attend. We look forward to continuing this tradition for many years.”


Competitions will be held in 15 different disciplines, including accounting, advanced accounting, business communications, business law, business math, computer concepts, economics, entrepreneurship, introduction to business, job interview, keyboarding objective, keyboarding skills, marketing, personal finance and web page design.


First-place winners in each of the 15 categories will receive $500 tuition scholarships to PSC. Medals will also be awarded to first through fifth place winners in each contest.


Schools that are scheduled to attend include Auburn High School, Conestoga High School, Deshler High School, Douglas County West High School, Elmwood-Murdock High School, Fairbury High School, Falls City High School, Fremont-Mills (Iowa) High School, Gretna High School, Heartland Community High School, HTRS High School, Johnson-Brock High School, Johnson County Central High School, Nebraska City High School, Norris High School, Platteview High School, Sabetha (Kansas) High School, Southeast Consolidated High School, Sterling High School, Syracuse High School, Tarkio (Missouri) High School, Tri-County High School and Waverly High School.


For more information, contact Dr. Grotrian at or call 402-872-2290.